MPs And Peers Hear From Festival Bosses About Urgent Need For Support

The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Music held its AGM on Tuesday (yesterday) and re-elected officers for the Group for another term.

Page actions

24.02.2021: The All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Music held its AGM on Tuesday (yesterday) and re-elected officers for the Group for another term.

The Group, which brings together Parliamentarians with a shared interest in music, is one of the largest in Westminster with 117 members. 

Conservative MP for Somerset and Frome David Warburton was re-elected as Chair of the Group with Chris Matheson MP and Christina Rees MP newly elected Vice-Chairs. A full list of officers for the Group is below.

Following the election of Officers, UK Music Chief Executive Jamie Njoku-Goodwin gave an update on UK Music’s reaction to the reopening roadmap laid out by the Prime Minister on Monday as well as the post-Brexit implications on touring. 

 The Group discussed what further work should be done by Government to ensure that musicians and crew can work freely across the Europe without costly red tape. 

 MPs and Peers also focussed on how the sector can look to reopen as restrictions loosen over the coming months. The Group heard from Melvin Benn, Managing Director of Festival Republic, on the support needed by the sector, including the need for a Government-backed reinsurance scheme. 

Also addressing the Group was Sacha Lord, the Night-Time Economy Adviser for Greater Manchester and co-founder of Parklife and Warehouse Project. He highlighted the urgent need for Government to act swiftly in assessing how festivals can reopen again safely when safe to do so to ensure that we do not see further swathes of cancellations this year. 

Parliamentarians who attended the meeting include David Warburton (Chair), Kevin Brennan, Pete Wishart, Lord Tim Clement-Jones, Alex Davies-Jones, Damian Green, Christina Rees, Mark Tami, Conor McGinn, Lord Black of Brentwood, Lord Berkeley of Knighton, Alex Sobel, Nickie Aiken, Rupa Huq, Baroness Jane Bonham-Carter, Jeff Smith, Earl of Clancarty, Baroness Hamwee, John Howell, Tracy Brabin and representatives from the offices of Harriet Harman, Sharon Hodgson and Ann McLaughlin.

Thank you to UK Music members who attended the meeting including Sandie Shaw & David Martin (FAC), Crispin Hunt & Julia Rowen (Ivors Academy), Roberto Neri & Lucie Caswell (MPA), Camilla Waite (PPL), Ali Condon (PRS for Music), Paul Pacifico (AIM), Horace Trubridge & Naomi Pohl (MU), Amanda Maxwell (UK Music Futures Group).

Back to news