New All-Party Parliamentary Group on Music meets for the first time


UK Music CEO Michael Dugher welcomes the new All-Party Parliamentary Group for Music in Westminster.

05/05/2016: The new All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Music met for the first time at the House of Commons on Tuesday.

The APPG brings Parliamentarians and the music industry together through a series of events and initiatives. At their first meeting at Portcullis House, members discussed plans for the next year which will include a round-table on mental health and music, a visit to a recording studio and a Christmas dinner with a guest speaker.

The APPG also considered further action that may be necessary over the new Parliamentary session including campaigns to tackle the “value gap” with digital services, A&R Tax Relief, the EBACC and threats to music in schools, as well as protecting music venues from closure.

Conservative David Warburton MP was elected as the new Chair of the group, taking over from Nigel Adams MP who has been appointed a Government Whip. Labour MP Sharon Hodgson MP was elected a Co-Chair, Dawn Butler MP and Kerry McCarthy MP Vice Chairs and Conor McGinn MP as Secretary to the group.

The meeting was also attended by a number of other Parliamentarians including Lord Watts and Lord Wood of Anfield, along with a host of MPs including Kevin Brennan, Pete Wishart, Will Quince, Stephanie Peacock, Valerie Vaz, Ellie Reeves, Lucy Powell, Thangam Debbonaire, Jeff Smith, Karl Turner, Anna McMorrin, Ruth Smeeth, Paul Williams and Alex Sobel.

UK Music acts as secretariat for the Group and takes forward its programme of work. For more information and membership of the APPG on Music visit the website here.

  • AIM (Logo)
  • BASCA (Logo)
  • BPI (Logo)
  • FAC (Logo)
  • The MMF (Logo)
  • Music Publishers Association (Logo)
  • The Music Producers Guild (Logo)
  • The Musicians Union (Logo)
  • PPL (Logo)
  • PRS for Music (Logo)
  • UK Live Music Group (Logo)

Copyright © 2013 UK Music, 4th Floor, 49 Whitehall, London, SW1A 2BX
Tel: +44 (0)20 3713 8444 Fax: +44 (0) 20 7306 4449 @UK_Music