Michael Dugher congratulates “Sir Ringo” as New Year’s Honours List is revealed

29:12:2017 - Michael Dugher has congratulated figures from the music industry who have been rewarded in the New Year's Honours List published tonight. 

Beatles’ drummer Ringo Starr was awarded a knighthood – two years after UK Music’s CEO called for the honour for the former Beatle.

Bee Gee Barry Gibb also became a “Sir” for his services to music and charity.

A knighthood went to Andrew Parmley – the first music teacher to serve as Lord Mayor of the City of London (2016-17).

Labour MP Mark Hendrick, a member of the All-Party Parliamentary Group on Music, was awarded a knighthood.

Those who received CBEs included: Jonathan Freeman-Attwood, the Principal of the Royal Academy of Music; Sean Dennehey, deputy chief executive of the Intellectual Property Office; Lilian Hochhauser, promoter of classical music and ballet (along with husband Victor); actor Hugh Laurie who released blues and jazz albums in 2011 and 2013; Julia McKenzie who appeared in a number of musicals; and Veronica Wadley, chair of Arts Council London and former chair of the Mayor’s Music Fund.

Those who received OBEs included: Sarah Alexander, chief executive and artistic director of the National Youth Orchestra; Marc Almond, singer with Soft Cell; Nik Powell, co-founder of the Virgin Group; and John Sloboda, research Professor at Guidhall School of Music and Drama;

Those who received MBEs included Iain Godfrey Ball for services to cathedral choral music and to young people; Michael Bell for services to the Cardiff Philharmonic Orchestra; Neil David Bohanna, head of operations at the Royal Northern College of Music; Charles Richard  Butler, assistant headteacher and head of performing arts at Ulverston Victoria High School, Cumbria; Professor David Hugh Gray Cheape for services to Scottish cultural education and traditional music; Richard Cowie (aka Wiley); Matt Henry for services to musical theatre; Glenys Irene Hughes for services to music in Orkney and charity in Malawi; Grace Ladoja; John Larke; Anthony Marwood; Bazil Leonard Duncan Meade; David George Openshaw; David Anthony Temple, musical director of the Crouch End Festival; Ian Nigel Tully, executive chair of the National Youth Jazz Orchestra; and Cleveland Watkiss, jazz vocalist, actor and composer.

  • AIM (Logo)
  • BASCA (Logo)
  • BPI (Logo)
  • FAC (Logo)
  • The MMF (Logo)
  • Music Publishers Association (Logo)
  • The Music Producers Guild (Logo)
  • The Musicians Union (Logo)
  • PPL (Logo)
  • PRS for Music (Logo)
  • UK Live Music Group (Logo)

Copyright © 2013 UK Music, Savoy Hill House, 7-10 Savoy Hill, London, WC2R 0BU
Tel: +44 (0)20 3713 8444 Fax: +44 (0) 20 7306 4449 info@ukmusic.org @UK_Music